May 2004

May 6, 2004
The Department of Biomedical Engineering has been honored with the �2004 Rutgers Award for Programmatic Excellence in Undergraduate Education�. The BME department was singled out for novel dynamic curricula following 3 separate tracks and for its integration of class teaching and research in the undergraduate experience. Multiple extant external awards attest to the excellence in education and in the quality of BME graduates.

April 2004

April 30, 2004
On April 29th 2004, over 70 students presented their research at the 4th Annual Senior Design and Graduate Program Conference held on Busch Campus. Graduating seniors throughout the day, presented the results of their year-long design projects to an audience of approximately 120 invited guests including family members, various departmental faculty, and industrial collaborators. The event began with a plenary lecture on �Defending Against Biological Terrorism� given by Dr. Tim Dasey, a BME alumnus who works at MIT/ Lincoln Laboratory.

March 2004

March 10, 2004
Professor Gary Drzewiecki along with 38 other faculty were honored at the Rutgers Office of Corporate Liaison and Technology Transfer Fifth Patent Award Dinner. Dr. Drzewieckiwas recognized for his innovative technique for measuring vascular function using a blood pressure cuff. Other BME faculty receiving recognition include Professors Kohn, Riman,Uhrich and Sinko.
March 10, 2004
Professors Stanley Dunn, Prabhas Moghe, Thomas Papathomas, Russ Parsons, andJohn Semmlow were inducted as fellows of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering at its annual meeting this past week. This brings the number of Rutgers BME program faculty who are AIMBE fellows to 19, and places Rutgers in the top ten of all universities with AIMBE fellows

February 2004

February 27, 2004
The Eighteenth Annual Symposium of the Laboratory or Surface Modification was held on Thursday, February 26, 2004, at the Fiber Optics Auditorium on the Busch Campus. In addition to oral presentations by Professors Yves Chabal (Director of LSM and Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Chemistry) and Kathyrn Uhrich (Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program), poster presentations were also given by BME graduate students, Tim Maguire and Melissa Stickle.
February 26, 2004
February 26, 2004 Rebecca Penkala, a junior in BME, received the 2004 David and Dorothy Bernstein Scholarship from the BioMAPS program and the Center for Molecular Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry. Rebecca�s project for the award is �Intracellular Activation Using Ligand and Carrier Nanodots� under the direction of Professor Prabhas Moghe.
February 24, 2004
Professors Stan Dunn, Alkis Constantinides, and Prabhas Moghe received a $135,000 Teaching Materials grant from the Whitaker Foundation. The award is to help develop a BME textbook entitled �Numerical Modeling in Biomedical Systems.� The foundation has given only 10 Teaching Materials awards since the program was initiated in 1995.
February 13, 2004
The Rutgers University and NJIT Departments of Biomedical Engineering, and the Biotechnology Council of New Jersey hosted their first Biomedical Engineering Showcase on Friday, February 13th 2004. The event drew in more than 335 attendees, 20 exhibitors and over 30 poster presentations. Representatives from academia included undergraduates, graduate students and faculty, and industry was well represented by researchers, CEO�s, accountants, lawyers and sales representatives.

January 2004

January 30, 2004
NEW BRUNSWICK/PISCATAWAY, N.J. � The Rutgers-based Protein Data Bank (PDB) has begun the year with a commitment of a record $30 million in federal support for the next five years. This computer library of molecular structures is one of the world's most critical resources for solving the mysteries of human disease. Prof. Helen Berman, a BME graduate program faculty member is director of the PDB.
January 20, 2004
VP Furmanski has announced the 2003-04 Rutgers Academic Excellence Awards. Of 36 proposals funded Rutgers-wide, 4 were awarded to BME program faculty: 1) J. Kohn - Combinatorial and Parallell Polymer Synthesis; 2) E. Kowler and D. Metaxas - Research and Training in Visual Science; 3) Y. Chabal et al - Novel Atom Layer Deposition; and 4) J. Guo et al - Nanoscale Opto-Mechanical Biosensing