July 2004

July 7, 2004
Professors Martin Yarmush and Dinos Mavroidis (from Northeastern University) received a Phase II, 2 year, $400,000 grant from the NASA Institute for Advanced Concepts (NIAC) for their project �Bio-Nano-Machines for Space Applications�. The goals of the project are to study bio-nano-machine components for two macro-scale space devices: the Networked TerraXplorer (NTXp) for mapping and exploration of large surfaces, and the Smart Bio-Nano Suit (SBS), for early detection and protection against dangerous and harmful environments.
July 5, 2004
Professor Stan Dunn was recently appointed Deputy Editor of a new journal BioMedical Engineering OnLine (BEO). BEO is an open access, peer reviewed, online journal that is dedicated to publishing research in all areas of biomedical engineering.
July 1, 2004
Professor Prabhas Moghe received a three year $198,000 award from the American Heart Association for his project Nanoscale Macromolecules for LDL Complexation and Clearance. Other collaborating-investigators in this research program are Profs. Kathryn Uhrich, and Silvina Tomassone.

June 2004

June 21, 2004
Articles in the Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering (ARBME) were cited more often than papers in any of its peer journals, according to ISI�s 2003 Journal Citation Report, giving it the highest �impact factor� in its peer group. It was also ranked #1 in the ISI�s 2002 Journal Citation Report. The ISI�s impact factor has increased from 3.537 in 2002, to 7.875 in 2003. Professor Martin Yarmush serves as the editor-in-chief of the ARBME which published its first volume in 1999.
June 11, 2004
Congratulations to BME graduate students Charles Florek, Salaheldin Hamed, Rebecca Hughey, Eric Novik, and Alice Rentz, who were recently appointed as Graduate Trainees in the Rutgers-NSF IGERT Program on Integratively Engineered Biointerfaces. Other new trainees are Frances Gratacos and Ronald Perez (MBS), and Princey Varughese(CCB).
June 7, 2004
BME undergraduate students Benjamin Griffel, Fred Martin, Anthony Nicolini, Rebecca Penkala, and Julie Richardson have been named ISURF (IGERT Summer Undergraduate Research Frontier) Scholars for 2004 and will participate in intense summer research. Advising faculty include Nada Boustany, Prabhas, Moghe, Rene Schloss, Martin Yarmush, Charles Roth, Stanley Dunn, and Richard Riman.
June 1, 2004
BME Undergraduate Fred Martin received a RISE (Research in Science and Engineering) fellowship. His project titled �Differentiation of Embryonic Stem Cells into Functional Hepatoyctes�, is being performed under the direction of Professors Martin Yarmush andRene Schloss.

May 2004

May 26, 2004
Jason Maikos, a 3rd year BME graduate student, received an inaugural Graduate Student Fellowship from the New Jersey Commission on Spinal Cord Research. The 2-year fellowship includes a full stipend and supply and travel allowances. Jason�s research project, under the guidance of Professor David Shreiber, is entitled �In Vivo Tissue-Level Thresholds for Spinal Cord Injury�.
May 24, 2004
Knic Rabara, a BME Honors Academy member working with Professor David Shreiber, was awarded a Rutgers Undergraduate Research Fellowship (RURF). Knic�s project is entitled �Design of a Self-Assembling Oligopeptide Biomaterials for Nerve Regeneration.� Also awarded a RURF is BME student Sandra Viriyayuthakorn, who is working with Professor Charles Roth on �Quantitative Analysis of Intracellular Trafficking of Oligonucleotides�.
May 20, 2004
BME graduate, Andy Eugene delivered the student commencement address at graduation on May 20th at the Louis Brown Athletic Center Andy�s speech was selected from a group of several engineering students who competed for the honor. This is the second consecutive year that a BME was selected. At the 2003 convocation, Theresa Hayes, a BME graduate delivered the student address.