July 2007

July 16, 2007
Research by Professor Troy Shinbrot and colleagues revealing new mechanisms for the mixing and separation of pharmaceutical and other grains has been covered in The American Institute of Physics Bulletin of Physics News. The work shows how two populations of sand grains mixed together and held in a hopper will, when shaken out into a beaker, spontaneously segregate themselves, because of static electrical interactions. (
July 9, 2007
Professor Yannis Androulakis received a three-year $315K grant from the National Science Foundation to support his research focusing of the development of novel computational methods for the analysis of complex reaction mechanisms. The work is in collaboration with Professor Marianthi Ierapetritou (CBE).
July 2, 2007
Wajdi Kanj (BME 08) has been elected as the Student Representative to the Board of Trustees for 2007-08. This position, one of the most powerful in student and university governance gives Mr. Kanj direct access to the highest levels of the administration and the ability to sit on a great number of decision-making bodies. In addition, Christine Lomiguen (BME 09) has been selected as the Student Charter member of the Board of Trustees. This position, which has a term of six years, comes with full voting rights and privileges.

June 2007

June 20, 2007
Anant Madabhushi's work on detection of prostate cancer has received media attention on the AAAS EurekAlert news distribution site. Click on AAAS EurekAlert to view the article.
June 20, 2007
Professor Jeffrey Zahn received a 2007 Wallace H. Coulter Foundation Early Career Award. The two-year $200K award will support his project titled "Microfluidic Dialysis Platforms for Monitoring Cardiopulmonary Bypass Systemic Inflammation".
June 6, 2007
Professor Prabhas Moghe received a three year $198K Grant-in-Aid Award from the American Heart Association (AHA) for the project titled "Multifunctional Nanoscale Biomaterials for Inhibition of Atherogenesis".
June 1, 2007
Professor Ioannis Androulakis received a two year $43,000 Busch Biomedical Research Grant to support his research on "Modeling the dynamics of gene expression in monocytes from LPS-challenged healthy humans pre-treated with cotrisol".

May 2007

May 30, 2007
Nuria Royo, a second year BME PhD student has been awarded a 2-year $60,000 predoctoral fellowship from the New Jersey Commission on Spinal Cord Research. Nuriawill be working, under the direction of Professor William Craelius, on a project entitled "Guiding Axonal Regeneration with Piezoelectric Polymers".
May 8, 2007
Anant Madabhushi has been awarded a 1 year, $50,000 grant for his project entitled "Computerized Detection and Grading of Prostate Histology" by the New Jersey Commission on Cancer Research (Co-PI: Mike Feldman-UPenn). The major goal of this project is to develop quantitative image analysis tools to define image-based signatures to characterize appearance of prostate lesions from digitized histological biopsy specimens.
May 7, 2007
Jonathan Chappelow, a second year BME PhD student has been awarded a 2-year $40,000 predoctoral fellowship from the New Jersey Commission on Cancer Research. Jonwill be working, under the direction of Professor Anant Madabhushi, on developing novel multi-modal registration tools for aligning histology and high resolution MRI studies for detection of prostate cancer.