February 2013

February 12, 2013
Research performed in the laboratories of Professors Francois Berthiaume and Martin Yarmush in collaboration with researchers at Araim Pharmaceuticals was recently published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. The collaborative study showed that systemic administration of ARA290 (a peptide from the protein erythropoietin) after burn injury is highly effective in reducing burn wound expansion by preventing microvascular thrombosis and progressive tissue necrosis.
February 11, 2013
The Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) and the Center for innovative Ventures of Emerging Technologies (CIVET) have been awarded a 2-year, $34,500 grant from the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance (NCIIA). The program entitled"Biomedical Engineering E-Teams for Healthcare Innovation" aims to implement a new senior design experience for Biomedical Engineering (BME) students focused on the integration of BME/medicine with translation of innovation to industry.

November 2012

November 28, 2012
Research performed in the laboratory of Professor Martin Yarmush in collaboration with researchers at the Massachusetts General Hospital and the University of Bergen in Norway, on the development of subcutaneous implants of nanoscale hydrogel scaffolds coated with human bone marrow stromal cells as artificial bone marrow cavities, was recently published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.
November 16, 2012
BME PhD student Shirley Masand was granted a travel award by SciWomen, the office for the promotion of Women in Science, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Shirley presented a poster entitled "Instructive glycomimetic functionalized scaffolds for peripheral nerve injury" at the Annual Meeting of the Biomedical Engineering Society in Hartford, CT in October, 2011. Shirley is advised by Professor David Shreiber.
November 12, 2012
Professor Martin Yarmush will serve as a member of the Executive Advisory Editorial Board of a new journal named "Organogenesis". The journal covers significant advances of all aspects of organ development, and also includes research into tissue engineering, artificial organs, and organ substitutes.
November 1, 2012
Professor Evangelia Micheli-Tzanakou is a guest co-editor of a special issue of the International Journal of Computational Intelligence in Bioinformatics and Systems Biology SPECIAL ISSUE: "Classify the Classifiers: Investigating the Optimum Classification Technique per case in Bioinformatics". facebook video

October 2012

October 1, 2012
A 5-year, $2.9 million NIH Bioengineering Research Partnership R01 has been awarded to Professors Joachim Kohn and Jared Bushman (New Jersey Center for Biomaterials), David Shreiber (Biomedical Engineering), and Melitta Schachner (Keck Center for Collaborative Neuroscience) through the National Institute for Neurological Diseases and Stroke. The interdisciplinary team will develop a fully degradable conduit for treatment of severe, "large-gap" peripheral nerve trauma that specifically accelerates recovery of motor function.

September 2012

September 26, 2012
NEW BRUNSWICK/PISCATAWAY, N.J. -- Rutgers has received a $550,000 grant from Johnson & Johnson for a number of projects and programs in key areas. The grant will help underwrite the cost of six new projects and fund a new undergraduate research fellowship. It will also provide funding for eight ongoing or expanded projects, fellowships, and a research awards program established in previous years.
September 25, 2012
I am truly saddened to announce that Dr. Evangelia (Litsa) Micheli-Tzanakou, Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Engineering and IEEE Fellow, passed away on Sunday, September 23, 2012, after a long illness. She gave service to the Rutgers School of Engineering for over 31 years and also served as the Second BME Chair from 1990 to 1998. The Biomedical Engineering at Rutgers University, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and the broader BME community will miss her contribution. Dr. Tzanakou is survived by her husband George.
September 10, 2012
The Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) and the Center for innovative Ventures of Emerging Technologies (CIVET) have been awarded a second 3-year $399,798 training grant from the U.S. Department of Education program of Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN). The award entitled, "Graduate Training in Emerging Areas of Human Relevant Microphysiological Systems" will provide 3 full graduate fellowships per year for the next 3 years.